Submitting Tests

Test submission is via the typical GitHub workflow. For detailed guidelines on setup and each of these steps, please refer to the Github Test Submission documentation.

  • Fork the GitHub repository.
  • Create a feature branch for your changes.
  • Make your changes.
  • Run the lint script in the root of your checkout to detect common mistakes in test submissions. There is detailed documentation for the lint tool.
  • Commit your changes.
  • Push your local branch to your GitHub repository.
  • Using the GitHub UI, create a Pull Request for your branch.
  • When you get review comments, make more commits to your branch to address the comments.
  • Once everything is reviewed and all issues are addressed, your pull request will be automatically merged.

We can sometimes take a little while to go through pull requests because we have to go through all the tests and ensure that they match the specification correctly. But we look at all of them, and take everything that we can.

Hop on to the mailing list or IRC (webclient, join channel #testing) if you have an issue. There is no need to announce your review request, as soon as you make a Pull Request GitHub will inform interested parties.

Previews

The website wpt-submissions.live exists to help contributors demonstrate their proposed changes to others. If your pull request is open and has the GitHub label pull-request-has-preview, then it will be available at http://wpt-submissions.live/{{pull request ID}}, where “pull request ID” is the numeric identifier for the pull request.

For example, a pull request at https://github.com/web-platform-tests/wpt/pull/3 has a pull request ID 3. Once that has been assigned the pull-request-has-preview label, then its contents can be viewed at http://wpt-submissions.live/3.

If you are a GitHub collaborator on WPT, the label and the preview will be created automatically. Because the WPT server will execute Python code in the mirrored submissions, previews are not created automatically for non-collaborators. Collaborators are encouraged to enable the preview by adding the label, provided they trust the authors not to submit malicious code.